Über den Verlag

David Beach
Three Schenkerian-Based Studies
Chamber Works by Mendelssohn, Schumann, and Brahms

2022, 108 S., mit 60 Analysegraphiken., Paperback
Reihe: Studien und Materialien zur Musikwissenschaft, 121
ISBN: 978-3-487-16250-8

28,00 EUR
(Preis inkl. Umsatzsteuer zzgl. Versandkosten)
Lieferzeit beträgt innerhalb Deutschlands bis zu 7 Arbeitstage / außerhalb Deutschlands bis zu 14 Arbeitstage



Three Schenkerian-Based Studies is an in-depth examination of three giants of the 19th-century chamber music literature: Mendelssohn’s Sixth String Quartet in F Minor, op. 80, written in 1847 in response to the death of his sister, Fanny Hensel; Schumann’s ground-breaking Piano Quintet in E-flat, op. 44, written in 1842; and Brahms’s dynamic Piano Quintet in F Minor, op. 34, of 1862. This volume is unique in at least two respects: first, it presents the only complete study of these three important works; and second, it contains detailed Schenkerian graphs of all twelve movements, which should be of considerable value to all those interested in Schenker’s ideas and their application. In addition, the consideration of voice-leading structure is, in all cases, preceded by a thorough discussion of aspects of formal design, and, where appropriate, observations on narrative/programmatic matters.
This volume is directed at all serious musicians interested in these works, especially the extended music theory community.